International judges announced for 2020 iD International Emerging Designer Awards

iD Judges confirmed

Looks by 2020 iD International Emerging Designer Awards finalists Isabella Diorio (left) and Yufan Li (right). Images supplied.

The winners of the 2020 iD International Emerging Designer Awards will be announced in a video presentation on Friday 7th August which is an exciting first for the event. Due to global Covid-19 restrictions and lockdowns over the past few months the original live event has been reimagined into a video awards presentation that is currently being edited by world-leading production house NHNZ. The 32 finalists have shared their collections which were filmed in bedrooms, hallways and parks across 14 countries with a panel of international and local fashion experts.

An exciting upside of moving online the iD International Emerging Designer Awards in partnership with Otago Polytechnic online means that organisers have been able to assemble an unrivalled panel of 16 jurors from five countries. The judging of the collections will take place over the next two months and the winners will be announced live at a glamorous event at Otago Polytechnic in Dunedin. The video will be released to coincide with the 2020 winner announcement on Friday 7th August.

The panel led by head judge Tanya Carlson of Carlson (New Zealand) is:
– Donna Tulloch, Mild Red (New Zealand)
– Margarita Robertson, NOM*d (New Zealand)
– Wynn Crawshaw, Wynn Hamlyn (New Zealand)
– Fiona Ralph, sustainability journalist and former iD International Emerging Designer Awards finalist (New Zealand)
– Stiofán Sopelza, Mittelmoda Fashion Awards Project Manager Mittelmoda (Italy)
– Sara Maino, New Talents Editor of Vogue Italia (Italy)
– Stefan Siegel, Director Not Just a Label (USA)
– Adrien Yakimov Roberts, International Director at Grad Fashion Week in London (UK)
– Stephen Jones, Stephen Jones Millinery (UK)
– Lutz Huelle, LUTZ (France)
– Patty Huntington, fashion journalist ABC Australia and WWD (Australia)
– Dame Denise L’Estrange-Corbet, WORLD (New Zealand)
– Doris de Pont, New Zealand Fashion Museum (New Zealand)
– Doris Raymond, The Way We Wore (USA)
– Sara Munro, Company of Strangers (New Zealand)

iD Dunedin Fashion Inc. co-chair Dr Margo Barton says that judging and hosting the show online provided an unparalleled opportunity to make the show truly global and draw upon some of the world’s most experienced fashion judges. “The Board of iD Dunedin is delighted to have pulled together such a wonderful array of international talent,” she says. “It’s an amazing opportunity for the 32 finalists to have their collections viewed and critiqued by these judges. Ironically moving the emerging show online has taken us back to our roots, as we welcome Stiofán Sopelza back as a judge, he was our first international juror.”

This year marks the 16th year of the iD International Emerging Designer Awards with finalists shortlisted from over 150 applications which were assessed by a talented panel of New Zealand designers. Led by head judge Tanya Carlson of Carlson, the panel included Wynn Crawshaw of Wynn Hamlyn, sustainability journalist and former iD International Emerging Designer Awards finalist Fiona Ralph and Donna Tulloch of Mild-Red.

“It was wonderful to see young people thinking creatively of a way to help out,” says Tanya Carlson of the applicants designs which were submitted early this year before the global Covid-19 pandemic but with the future of the planet in mind. “Collectively they showed outstanding use of recycled fabric, clever upcycling and embraced new technologies. There was also an overall trend to tell their own story through references to their ethnicity and culture which was explored with beautiful, sensitive design.”

Dunedin fashion fans will have the first opportunity to view the premiere of the video at the awards announcement event in Dunedin, after which the iD International Emerging Designer Awards video will be made available on, Not Just a Label and

Following the announcement of the jurors’ choice of winner, viewers from around the world will be invited to vote for the Otago Polytechnic’s People’s Choice Award.

2020 iD International Emerging Designer Awards finalists and their collections are:
Anelisa Mcetywa; Harmony; Cape Peninsula University of Technology; South Africa
Anna Hambira; The Private Revolution of the Individualists; University of Applied Arts Vienna, Vienna
Beier Kang; 2D-3D; Shanghai University of Engineering Science; China
Bonita Alexander; Lost Property; Queensland University of Technology; Australia
Eliska Marczan; Matrilineal; University of Technology, Sydney; Australia
Ellen Cara Watson; Praevado; Fashion Design Studio, TAFE, Sydney; Australia
Faiha Rahmani; Of Two Minds; University of Technology, Sydney; Australia
He Xinyi; My Bed; Donghua University; Shanghai, China
Imuy Teav; Gentle Man; Auckland University of Technology; New Zealand
Isabella Diorio; F.E.T. (Female Engagement Team); Kent State University; USA
Isabelle Badr; In Gear; RMIT University, Melbourne; Australia
Jordyn Smith; Fashion’s Prometheus; RMIT University, Melbourne; Australia
Julie Mwiragua; Tenderhead; South Metropolitan TAFE, Bentley, WA; Australia
Julien Esteves Berthier; La Nausee Istituto Marangoni; London; United Kingdom
Kauri Takahashi; Boro Boro; Massey University, New Zealand
Ketty Lin; Proteggimi; Polimoda; Italy
Kim Clark; overlapped, RMIT University, Melbourne; Australia
Yufan Li; WHISKING PAST, Donghua University, China
Ruby Van der Zanden; Why Not? We’re on Holiday; Otago Polytechnic, Dunedin; New Zealand
Marlena Czak; Why me, why me; Strzemiński Academy of Fine Arts in Łódź; Poland
Mei Zhang; See Me; University of Technology, Sydney; Australia
Micaela Bautista and Camila Lema; Luxo Gang; Universidad de Buenos Aires; Argentina
Morgan Allen; MRGN The Label; Manchester Fashion Institute, Manchester; United Kingdom
Nadya Kusumo; 925, RMIT University, Melbourne; Australia
Pujasree Vatsa; Saudade, National Institute of Fashion Technology, Mumbai; India
Sheung Yung (Sharon) Tsang; Hallucination; Donghua University; Shanghai, China
Srinvanti Roymoulik; Flowing Rhythm; RMIT University, Melbourne; Australia
Stina Randestad; Hybrids; The Swedish School of Textiles; Sweden
Vera Kalugina; Aurora; Otago Polytechnic, Dunedin; New Zealand
Zarin Tasnim Mim; Safe Amazon; BGMEA University of Fashion design and Technology; Bangladesh
Zhongchen (Jake) Liu; No, Everlasting Eternity; RMIT University, Melbourne; Australia

To find out more about each finalist visit Best of luck to all the finalists.

iD Judges confirmed

Look by finalist Kauri Takahashi.

iD Judges confirmed

Looks by finalists Srinvanti Roymoulik (left) and Julie Mwiragua (right).

Images supplied.

Related Articles

Pin It on Pinterest